The trend of working society

The Unseen Advantages of Organization-wide Working from Home

It’s great when we all do it together correctly

Elye - A One Eye Dev By His Grace
ILLUMINATION
Published in
10 min readJun 13, 2020

--

Photo by Erik Mclean on Unsplash

Working from home was a foreign term to me until about five years ago, where I joined a company that provides the flexibility of working from home when required. Even with that, I rarely take, as I viewed that as a career-limiting benefit if one takes it too often.

Covid-19 has changed the world, at least for now. Working from home is a compulsory and norm for the time being. Only if one has a reason not to, can go to the office, but it is still greatly discouraged.

It has been three months now I’m working from home, together with most of the people in the company. Below is what I discovered. Unimaginably great!

Got back 20% of my working life back!

I worked 8 hours a week. I have to travel a 1-hour journey to work and back each way, which is 2 hours in total. So in total, my working hours were 8+2, which is 10 hours!

Some may argue that during traveling in a car, bus, or train for that 2 hours, we can still do something productive. But it is SOMETHING, and very limiting. I would say even the SOMETHING we did, it’s not the best way of doing…

--

--