MOVIES IN ILLUMINATION

Could A Promising Movie Role Launch You To The Heavens?

Lessons learned on set and behind the scenes

Tyler Woden
ILLUMINATION

--

A photo of Tyler Woden from behind. Tyler is looking out from a Thailand beach to the setting sun.
Me in deep contemplation. Location Thailand. Copyright Tyler Woden, 2024

***Disclaimer: ALL photos here are my property, owned by me and therefore under my personal copyright. I am sometimes asked if I consider selling my photos, such as handing over ownership. If that is something that intrigues you, can connect with me on my Facebook***

~P.S. Read for a while, and if you enjoy this, then for Odin’s sake CLAP, COMMENT & SHARE~

I’m Tyler Woden, and I’m a man who wears many hats.

Hats, obviously being a metaphor here.

I am many things.

Acting

We all wear hats. One of my hats is acting. This is one career that’s been on and off in the last few years. I’ve acted in China and also Thailand. I acted in commercials/advertisements, as well as trailers and short videos. These were for companies as well as social media channels.

We all act. Everyday, we act. Whether it’s for a commercial, a job, a movie, or for another person, we act. We ALL act in one way or another.

In one of my acting gigs, I got ‘married’ on camera. I guess you could say it’s my longest ‘relationship’ to date! Here is the ‘proof.’

Acting requires you to BE that person and BE in that situation. Copyright Tyler Woden, 2024

Acting In A Commercial

We have all probably wondered how it feels to be in a commercial.

One of the videos I was happy with was a commercial I did for Thailand. You can see it here:

Watch the full commercial here

Acting in commercials teaches you some things. It teaches you about appearance. Your appearance has to be top of your game. You have to at least be in shape. You never know when your stripping down. That happened to me when they made me do kayaking. I thought, “Jeez, I really wish I’d done more pushups and skipped that pizza the other day.”

It also teaches you about getting somewhere on time. But when I say “on time” what I mean is, getting there early.

We don’t just get there at the time we are told to, we get there earlier, and we show enthusiasm.

It also teaches you that, despite your lack of confidence in certain areas of your appearance you might posess, the camera can fix that, and, because they chose you in the first place, it shall be fixed. So you can let go.

Let’s Throw A Stone In The Works

Just to randomly throw you off for a moment, do you like poetry? We should appreciate all aspects of writing, just as I have come to appreciate poetry. This one really struck me from Ema Dumitru. Nicely written.

okay now back to the article

Acting In A Movie

A quick snap I took before they do ‘fitting’. Copyright Tyler Woden, 2024

We all want to be pampered sometimes, right? That’s what happens in the photo above in ‘fitting’.

Now being in a movie is going to be interesting I’m sure. I’ve no idea what it’s like acting in an actual movie. I’ve never done it. But, that’s all about to change soon.

I just landed a supporting role in a movie where I’m due to be filmed in mid May.

What it does teach you (I know because now I have spent some time on set as the others were filming) is that filming a movie is a rather…immense effort.

On a set, we all need to be switched on. We all need to take responsibility for cleanliness of the set. We all want everything to be as perfect as possible.

I watched from a guest seat on the set as one of the staff told another member of staff to “do it.” What she was actually trying to say was “Clean that small bit of dust by the bottom stair.”

You might be wondering why, but let me tell you, that bit of dust is clear as crystal on a movie set camera,

We saw it so clearly that it might as well have been donkey shite.

In the movies also teaches you another thing. Directors are awesome. The focus required is immense. There’s no gawking at your phone and answering your socials as the director. Well, I have seen one do it in a commercial, but only right at the end when finished.

We listened to the director’s one piece of dailogue as he hastily chewed a piece of watermelon, “We directors are like Marvel’s Hawkeye, we must focus on…EVERYTHING!

It teaches you other things too, but, hey ho, I can’t talk about it too much yet because landing the part hasn’t sunk in… yet.

What Is The Movie Part?

Weeeeeeeeeeell, for reasons I am sure you can guess, I will not disclose anything that could jeopardise the crew and their efforts or property, etc, etc.

What I could maybe show you is this below, so look carefully

Photo of me in ‘casting’. Copyright Tyler Woden, 2024

If you can guess a detail of my part by looking at this picture, dash a comment and I’ll eventually reveal said detail.

Prizes to those who are correct… ;-)

We excited yet?

How Did I Get This Role?

We all wonder, don’t why, right? But a more important question is, “How did I land this role?”

Well, let’s just say I did a lot of ‘method acting’… especially when it came to pretending I knew what I was doing!

Write that one down.

Let’s Conclude What You ‘Hopefully’ Have Learned By Reading This

  • Acting requires more than just performing. It involves maintaining appearance, punctuality, and confidence.
  • Acting in commercials teaches about the importance of physical appearance and being early/on time.
  • Filming a movie is an immense effort that requires attention to detail and cleanliness on set.
  • Directors play a crucial role in maintaining focus and ensuring perfection on set.
  • I used the word ‘we’ quite a lot.

What about you? What did you learn? Comments below.

Mentions to those who may be interested in this article

Ema Dumitru Thesna Aston Michelle B., Writer, Artist Bruno T. Keith McNulty Deandra Zaneta Nada Badran Tom Zimberoff Simon Dillon

Until next time,

~TW~

--

--

Tyler Woden
ILLUMINATION

Unbound by niches. However, I enjoy writing: Fiction -Life -Mental Health I equally enjoy reading in the same areas