The Void Within Me

Priyanshi Luthra
ILLUMINATION
Published in
1 min readApr 30, 2021

A poem on how a missed opportunity can create a void in one’s life

Photo by Denys Nevozhai on Unsplash

A flurry of thoughts

Leap off my mind, sometimes

Or daily maybe

Stuck in my brain

Like a parasite

Reminds me of something

Missing

Missing within me ;

I do laugh

I grin

I chuckle

I dance around

Life’s not that harsh on me

As you might presume

But there’s a void

A void I can’t fill

I wonder

Can I bring back that zeal, somehow

Can I just unkill

What I already killed…

When did I become

So dense

So much so that it was enough

To dampen my ardour

To make me choose

What I refrained

To push me far-off

So far that I can’t go back

Or restart ;

This void…

It’s now firm

Stable and undying

It’s like that because

Of lacking a plan

Maybe it’s not late for you

Maybe you still can…

Don’t let it fade away

Promise yourself everyday

That you’re here to stay

And that There’s no other way

--

--

Priyanshi Luthra
ILLUMINATION

I pen down the random chaos in my head over here 🐧