Poetry of Distance!

The Wait.

A soldier is waiting to see her beloved after returning from the war. How did he feel?

M. MAHIR TAJWAR
ILLUMINATION

--

Time has slowed down.. the wait is on
This is the moment, I held up so long.
So many faces, but I look around for you
It has been months that our love is due.

How do I look, that’s worrying me a lot
Will you be able to find me in this crowded spot?
You are still pretty, aah! that I know
I am waiting for those eyes where my love always glow.

While minutes have passed, and the wait is still on.
I am only thinking, if you still know my song!
Suddenly, I smiled like the half cracked moon,
Good God, I am so happy, I will see my princess soon.

The minutes felt like ages, but finally you came down,
Here I see my crowned queen wearing the angel’s gown.
The sound of your steps bumped my beats..
My palm is sweating, no it’s not the summer’s heat.

You came close to me, gazed at my eyes,
the intent was clear you want to hug me tight.
This was the moment I waited so long,
then it froze my tears of unfathomable tonnes!

Let me know whether you connected with the feeling of the poem and also your favourite lines from the poem. Cheers!

--

--

M. MAHIR TAJWAR
ILLUMINATION

Writer for: ‘ILLUMINATION’, ‘In Fitness and In Health’. || Blogger at Quora.