The Wait Is Over, The Hour Is Here

The fun and learning within college societies were also absent, making my college journey quite different, and less exciting, and unfortunately, social development opportunities were limited for me.

SHASHANK TIWARI
ILLUMINATION
4 min readOct 3, 2023

--

Photo By Javier trueba

I experienced a mix of excitement and nervousness when I got admission to my college. The prospect of meeting new friends in person and the anticipation of participating in vibrant classroom discussions were thrilling. However, my college journey began during the pandemic, at a time when schools, colleges, and cities were closed due to being locked down. Consequently, the only viable option was online education.

By the time the situation normalized, I had already lost 1.5 precious years of my college life, within the confines of my home. which means, I missed out on the typical college experiences like late-night study sessions, hanging out at cafes and bars, last-minute exam preparations, the initial bewilderment when faced with a challenging question paper, and the camaraderie and laughter exchanged during classroom interactions.

The fun and learning within college societies were also absent, making my college journey quite different, and less exciting, and unfortunately, social development opportunities were limited for me.

But as the pandemic subsided thanks to the vaccine. My college announced the reopening. When I heard this, I felt happy and scared at the same time. I did not expect to feel this way, but you will know why soon.

My college was really far from my hometown, about 1000 kilometers away. This means I have to migrate to a place where unfamiliarity will be my only true friend. I wouldn’t know anyone, the places, the food, the festivals, the customs — all would be new to me. What’s more, I’d be on my own. This newfound independence was a big deal. I had to make all the decisions in my life, like what to wear, and what to eat, and even handle everyday things like buying groceries, cooking, doing laundry, taking care of my health, and managing my money.

I was surprised by this clear and true insight, but that’s how life is. It shows us the right thing at the right time in its own way. I shared my feelings with my friends and they felt the same. That made me feel better. I was not alone in this. Knowing that you have someone who understands you is a powerful way to deal with your doubts. We often don’t realize that, but it’s true.

I read a very simple but effective quote a long time back that says,

Nothing is good or bad, only our thoughts make it so.

This simple quote made more sense to me today than ever. I decided to have a positive attitude and focus on the good things. I ignored the bad thoughts and feelings.

It was hard but worth it. I asked myself some important questions: What can college life offer me? How can it help me to improve myself? What kind of person do I want to be? How can college help me achieve that? After a night of thinking, I found satisfying answers.

College life brings both challenges and opportunities. Let’s talk about the good things first. College life is about making new friends, finding new mentors, and developing new networks. It is about meeting different people from culturally diverse backgrounds, It is about getting to know different stories from different perspectives.

The college offers exciting avenues for personality development like joining society and participating in nationally recognized debates. The college also has a diverse network of alumni, They work in science, business, or politics. They sometimes come to the college and tell us what they learned and what problems they faced. College is a new start in your life and will not be easy.

I think I might have some problems with studying hard, getting along with others, paying bills, and getting a job. These are hard problems, but I believe I can solve them with the right help and attitude.

My grandma always said that the smart thing to do is to face and then solve problems by breaking them down. I also know that college has a lot of academic pressure. The subjects are hard, the assignments are many, and the friends are demanding. I want to get good grades, but it will not come easy.

Also, living in a different city away from my parents can make me feel lonely, anxious, and stressed. My elder brother told me about his experience, but I am ready for this.

The real battle lies in the head not in the field.

Note: These are the thoughts that I write every day in my journal. I wanted to share them in my Medium story for a long time. Now I have done it and I feel relieved. I don’t feel guilty anymore.

I live in a country that doesn’t support MPP but if you found the post enjoyable and valuable in your life,

Please consider buying me a coffee.

--

--

SHASHANK TIWARI
ILLUMINATION

ADDICTED WRITER WHO LOVES TO REFLECT AND OBSERVE. LIVES IN SOLITUDE