The Wake-Up Call I Needed

The One Piece of Underrated Advice That Will Change Your Life

Mirza Baig
ILLUMINATION

--

Hourglass by Aron Visuals via Unsplash

TURN UP ON TIME!

Honestly, my biggest crux. If I was in an interview and somebody asked me what my biggest weakness is. It’s bloody tardiness. I can never seem to be on time.

I was born late, and I’ve been late ever since.

Until a recent performance review with one of my mentors woke me up.

It was a regular Monday. Busy with patient reviews and questions regarding the weird and wonderful because a weekend of no primary care service seems to throw the entire country off balance. During my lunch hour, I had a catch-up meeting scheduled with my mentor.

We have these regular catchups to ensure I meet the standards that I’ve set myself. Having somebody hold you accountable is so important on the journey to success. It was an expected meeting, so I wasn’t concerned.

We began the meeting. He was nice enough; as he always is, and he explained that he had a few things on the agenda he needed to go through. I won’t bore you with the other stuff, it’s irrelevant in this particular scenario.

However, we rather unexpectedly arrived at the following question, “you’re always late. What’s with that?”

--

--

Mirza Baig
ILLUMINATION

Pharmacist by Trade. Writer by passion. Writing about Personal Development, Business, Health & Fitness and more..