The Way You Do Anything Is The Way You Do Everything

Building your legacy and overcoming creator’s dilemma

Aditi Joshi
ILLUMINATION
2 min readSep 4, 2024

--

(Image by Aditi)

I have been reflecting on this quote for a few days – “The Way You Do Anything Is The Way You Do Everything.” Not sure who said it first, but I had the pleasure of listening to Martha Beck share this on Andrew Huberman’s Podcast.

My immediate response was “Ya, That makes sense!” But it also felt like an over-simplification. So I decided to do a little Hypothesis Testing. (I’m an engineer so labelling my random musings with scientific terms brings me joy.)

I reflected on the trivial moments and the big ones – on my experiences, of those closest to me, the ones who inspired me, and the ones who drifted away.

As I sat with this idea, it evolved into a powerful tool for self and other awareness. It’s a simple yet profound insight – a compass and a roadmap for times when trust in people or processes feels elusive.

So, how can you embrace this comforting yet challenging perspective?

1. At Crossroads with Self and Others: When the path ahead gets blurry, and the dilemma is more clearer than your vision, “the way you do anything is the way you do everything” will be your compass. How would you approach this situation if it weren’t so stressful? If your instinct is to be kind, sincere, or even carefree, then embrace it! While you can’t control the outcome, you can control your approach – you have somewhat mastered it by now.

2. A Mirror for Self-Reflection: Examine the consistency of your actions and see the ripple effect of daily habits on your resilience and mindset. Are you cutting corners in small tasks? Are you more at ease, more creative with simpler task? Tap into that mindset even for things that make you anxious.

3. Understanding People, Setting Boundaries: Hold yourself accountable by reflecting on your own reliability and consistency. Give yourself a pat on the back for a job well done. Are you keeping your promises? When building relationships, observe how others handle responsibility. Someone who avoids accountability or blame others is likely to do the same to you (you know how to manage your expectations in those scenarios). Build strong character in yourself, and seek out those who demonstrate the same.

PS: I’m finally publishing this after letting it sit for weeks, as I embrace this tool myself – “The Way You Do Anything Is The Way You Do Everything.” I’m trying to overcome the creator’s dilemma and “just ship things.” I hope you decide to ship something today as well! If you do, let me know what it was. :)

--

--

Aditi Joshi
ILLUMINATION

I reverse engineer & build things. Founder & part-time philosopher, jamming on startups, neuroscience, mental health, human rights, & spirituality.