Poetry/Humor

The Word Orange

Don’t let the word ‘orange’ intimidate you when trying to rhyme.

Zach J. Watson
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readAug 15, 2020

--

Some writers find it difficult
to rhyme ‘orange’ with a verb
or noun but the trick to rhyme
orange is all in the sound

for example,
I can binge while unhinged
on YouTube Kids videos of
the annoying orange who I
find quite terrifying

additionally,
I was offered an orange syringe
that was promised to bring joy
and fulfillment to all my days

but I decided to throw it away
as I do not know the places it
had been previously

orange can be a verb, noun, and
an adjective that provides excellent
vitamin c to our bodies or even be
the gummy worm you don’t eat

orange can be furniture, a cat’s fur,
and even the hair color of your Uncle
Mur

--

--