The World Needs to Leave Kate Middleton Alone.

C.L Louise
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMar 23, 2024

--

Photo by Ankhesenamun on Unsplash

Firstly, I’d just like to extend my well wishes and prayers for the health and healing of Princess Catherine.

I had actually written a draft of this article with the same title before the breaking news today of Kate Middletons health battle. I felt very strongly that the Princess deserved more privacy, empathy, and respect before we were fully aware of precisely what health issues she was facing. And now this title just seems even more apt…

I, like many others, have been shocked and saddened by the apparent inability of the media and others to respect the privacy of someone healing from a health condition.

No matter who it is, we should all be afforded the same basic right to be able to recover and heal in private.

I really do not understand the obsession and harassment that has surrounded this young woman’s health struggles. From conspiracy theories, demeaning comments, suggestions of affairs and divorce to tasteless humour, devoid of all empathy and compassion; the last few weeks has seen an ugly side of, I would argue — humanity, or lack there of.

Let’s just remember that Kate Middleton is a mother with three young children to think about. I’m quite sure that managing this role, in combination with her Royal status, and battling cancer at the same time, has…

--

--

C.L Louise
ILLUMINATION

Lovely to meet you! Lets intrigue and inspire eachother.. Bsc Hons Psychology, Irish writer writingenquiries365@gmail.com