The Year that Never Was

Zachary Kerman
ILLUMINATION
Published in
1 min readDec 31, 2020

Rip that bandage midnight
Just tell me now
While we’re still alive.
Everybody needs you, I can’t deny
Please let me know what we get when you arrive.

I won’t pretend you can control
The events that take their toll
Knowing what we’re in for’s what we’d all love,
Don’t want a repeat of

The year that never was (so long, bye bye)
The year that never was (so long, bye bye)
The year that never was (so long, bye bye)
The year that never was
I won’t hold my breath
Better prepare
For a new year of death

Find someone who didn’t mind
Life with lockdowns, masks, and wasted time
Least that you can do for us is, just say when,
We go through all this again

The year that never was (so long, bye bye)
The year that never was (so long, bye bye)
The year that never was (so long, bye bye)
The year that never was
I won’t hold my breath.
Better prepare
For a new year of death

You’d be so kind
It would be good to save us trouble
And then it hits
Epiphany now washes over
Your masquerade gives out,
Our predecessor extends its reign

“So long, bye bye”
The year that never was, that never was (“so long, bye bye”)
The year that never was (“so long, bye bye”)
The year that never was.
I won’t hold my breath
Better prepare
For the same year of death.
For the same year of death.
The year that never was.

--

--

Zachary Kerman
ILLUMINATION

27. Instagram: @zachkerman “You've gotta be original, because if you're like someone else, what do they need you for?”