There Are 75 English Words for Anger

It’s the go-to emotion these days.

Tree Langdon
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readApr 18, 2021

--

I type anger as the description of the file I’m saving on my laptop and it moves to the top of the list in the folder.

It’s telling me that it deserves first place.

Anger is an emotion that rises easily to the surface.

Anger at things that people believe are unfair or unjust, anger at the way the country is being managed, and anger at the ‘other ‘ — those that are different from us.

When I think of how anger feels inside of me, it brings tension to my jaw as my back teeth grind and I hold it close. My breath becomes shallow as I revel in the recollections of wrongs done by others. I feel righteous. I feel right.

Anger is the long slow burn of a fuse that travels a great distance before going underground and simmering for years.

It ignites the peat on the moors, setting fire to the very earth underfoot until the land is heated from below.

It’s like living on the sliding crust of a mountain that is leaking liquid lava, all molten and so red and orange that it hurts to look at it for very long.

Like the often-repeated story that Inuit have many different words for snow, there are even more different English words for anger.

--

--

Tree Langdon
ILLUMINATION

I write stories, and poetry, and create sketches inspired by my dreams for the world. https://wordsinmotion.substack.com/