There Are Only Two Choices In Life (According to Jim Carrey)

Which one we choose ultimately determines our entire reality

Andy Murphy
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Masha Raymers from Pexels

Jim Carrey’s life is a paradox.

On the one hand, he’s in the thick of fame and fortune, glitz and glamour, comparison and competition. But on the other, he loves solitude and silence, presence and purpose, renunciation and spirituality.

I caught him in the middle of such uncertain ground when I fell in love with him during Liar Liar and Bruce Almighty.

I then picked him up years later when I heard his university speech and then watched him through the making of Jim & Andy: The Great Beyond.

With hindsight, it’s not surprising to me that Jim suffered many episodes of depression throughout his life. He was caught between two worlds without knowing how to be in either one himself.

During those years, he often wondered:

“Who would I be without my fame… Who would I be if I said things that people didn’t want to hear, or if I defied their expectations of me?”

The version of Jim we see on talk shows today is a far cry from the actor of a few years ago who couldn’t stop doing impersonations to get a quick laugh.

--

--