There’s One Person You Need to Thank on Medium in an Article

They helped you like you didn’t know.

Noah Nelson
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readDec 20, 2021

--

Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

Do you remember your first day on Medium?

I know I do. It was a cold Friday afternoon as I dove into the Medium waters not really knowing what I was doing.

But that’s another story for another day.

I don’t remember if it was that day or soon after, but I gained my first follower. His name is John Gruber.

It made my day.

I gained a follower on a platform I barely knew anything about and had just started writing. Was this the start of something new?

Man, I hoped so.

Mr. Gruber set a precedent on Medium for me. The more I wrote, the more followers I slowly began to gain.

And it’s all thanks to him.

Thank Your First Medium Follower

Wherever you are in your Medium journey, you surely have a following list, right?

But do you remember your first?

If not, it’s okay, because you could do this for your first few followers or so. If you do remember, listen closely.

--

--

Noah Nelson
ILLUMINATION

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Alum | Author of “Life: A Collection of Short Stories” and “Dana and Me” | Featured Writer on ILLUMINATION (23x).