These Two People Helped Change The Landscape Of The United States

Stephanie A. James
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readJan 30, 2024

--

Photo by Unseen Histories on Unsplash

Tear drops formed at the corner of my eyes and I proceeded with a smile. My emotions went a little back and forth as I listened to a speech that changed my perspective on how I look at myself and the world.

The speech I listened to was from a Nobel Peace Prize winner and a determined minister who influenced thousands of people as well as demanded change. This inspirational speech was spoken to a group of Barratt Junior High School students. The speech I listened to was from Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. while sitting on a twin bed one evening. Now that twin bed may have been small but the words I heard King say were big and resonated with me in a big way.

The following words started to fill up my spirit from the beginning of the flow of the words.

“I want to suggest some of the things that should begin your life’s blueprint. Number one in your life’s blueprint should be a deep belief in your own dignity, your worth and your own somebodiness. Don’t allow anybody to make you feel that you’re nobody. Always feel that you count. Always feel that you have worth, and always feel that your life has ultimate significance.”

What I found most profound in his speech was when he said,

--

--

Stephanie A. James
ILLUMINATION

https://www.stephaniealicia.com An avid reader, author, and spinach lover! Her work has been featured in Consumer’s Research and websites such as ehow.