Think 10 times before being friends with such 10 types of people

Kavya Thakur
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min read5 hours ago
Photo by Ann Danilina on unsplash

1) people having victim mentality

We should keep a distance from those who have a victim mindset because they project their pain onto you and have a tendency to constantly talk negatively about any scenario while victimizing themselves.

When you’ll try to communicate your problem with such people, they will ignore it and start yapping about their problem and convince you that they are going through a much bigger problem than you. Spending time with such people can leave you emotionally drained.

2) Energy vampire

When you spend time with such people, you will always feel less energetic. Such people work on low vibrational energy, i.e., shame, guilt, apathy, grief, and fear.

Such people are usually insecure about themselves and try to project their insecurities onto others. There was a friend of mine who often said negative things about people, and whenever someone complimented me or anyone else, she would change the subject because she was unhappy with herself; therefore, she saw the worst in others. When I spent time with her, I felt a negative energy around me, and I was usually drained and stressed afterward.

3) People who make everything about themselves

I had a friend who thought he was better than everyone else’s because he was wealthier. He generally brags about his father’s money and tries to bring other people down because they are not as wealthy as him.

There will be many people who will talk about themselves, perhaps by putting themselves on pedestals. Such people have a strong sense of self-importance; this behavior is also known as narcissism.

4) people who put there insecurities on others

Honestly, I was the worst kind of person when I was insecure. I used to be jealous of other people, projecting my insecurities on them, and I used to attract the same kind of people. But now, when I’m secure about myself, I hate to be with people with no self-worth. Such people usually badmouth about themselves and often say bad about others to feel good about themselves.

I’m not saying being insecure means you are toxic to others, but rather being insecure and putting others’s down to feel better about yourself is toxic. You will find such people to gossip and talk trash about others.

5) People with constant drama

I was a person who was usually around drama all the time because I allowed such people to stay in my life and let them cross over my boundaries. When my closest friend said to me that you know what you need to get yourself out of this drama and let go of such people because these people are bringing drama in your life and the same drama you are bringing to my life. Then I did the same; I said it’s enough; I distanced myself from such people, and after that, my friend said, You know you seem much happier than before and much more peaceful.

6) people who can’t keep on there word’s

Such people are most unreliable and can’t be trusted. If you know someone who never keeps up with their word’s, then you should keep a distance. It doesn’t matter if you people are in a relationship, friendship, or maybe a family member because such people are irresponsible and lack accountability for their word’s or actions. Such people don’t respect you and your boundaries, and you must stay away from such people for your own well-being.

7) People who fake there personality to look good with others

I had a family member who was such a bad person with his wife and children but tried to act like a saint outside the house. Such people are part-time good people. These people put others down to uplift themselves. We may have such people in our lives, but the best thing you can do is to make a distance or cut off such people as soon as possible because if someone can’t respect you in front of others’, then he or she doesn’t deserve to be friends with you. It’s better to be alone instead of with people who make fun of your insecurities and change your personality with others.

8) Manipulate situation according to themselves

I will admit, I was this person in the past. Instead of admitting my mistake, I came up with stories to put blame on someone else and turn the whole situation in my favor. But if you’ll ask me, will I ever want to be friends with this person? I will answer NEVER!

Such people will show you what a good friend or person they are, and you will believe them. Even if you believe this person is not as good as you think, and you try to communicate with them, they will turn the conversation around and make you believe you are wrong about them, and such people are compulsive liars. People like this are untrustworthy, but you will trust them. However, this will end if you decide and analyze the scenario, and if you believe they are manipulating the situation, cut them out of your life.

9) People who don’t give you space

Such people may be nice in person, but they do not respect your personal space and are unaware that your social battery is running low. If they are constantly texting you, even if you have stated that you need some rest for a while or that you are working on something and require some alone time, yet they are constantly bothering you by calling or messaging.

10) people who are not ambitious

I wouldn’t even speak with those who aren’t serious about their lives and lack discipline. I used to get along with such people, and I’m telling you, I really regret wasting my time hanging out with such people who don’t respect themselves. You’ll think these people are hilarious, but in reality, you’re jeopardizing your priceless future for a few hours of entertainment. Always remember that the pain of regret is far worse than the pain of discipline.

--

--

Kavya Thakur
ILLUMINATION

Hey, I'm here to share my experience and making people feel better by telling them they are not alone