Think Accurate, Not Just Positive

A short story on Why you should not see the positive aspect of everything, rather accurate thinking is a must….

Be Hopeful
ILLUMINATION
2 min readJul 22, 2023

--

Photo by JESHOOTS.COM on Unsplash

Let me explain why.

For example, imagine you have an exam next month. In this scenario:

Positive thinking would be: “I will be the first in the exam.”

Negative thinking would be: “I may fail the exam.”

But accurate thinking is:

“I definitely want to pass this exam, and I can do it, but for that, I need to maintain a schedule and start learning to accomplish the desired grade. I can’t pass this exam by luck alone. Hard work is much more reliable than depending on my luck.”

Often, during stressful situations, we hear a lot about “be positive”, “everything will be alright”, “be happy” or “visualize yourself achieving whatever you want.”

Hello…

Knock knock…….

My dear friend, don’t fool yourself with these notions!

Believe me, in certain cases, thinking positively is just a fantasy and nothing more.

Accurate thinking is necessary to make better decisions. It helps us see the true aspects of each situation. This is the logical way of thinking, and our thoughts should be logical to make effective plans. It keeps us mentally and emotionally stable, and accuracy in thinking is a much more honest approach.

I am not saying that being positive is not good. In fact, “The Power of Positive Thinking by Norman Vincent Peale” is one of my favorite books because it always helps me in my darkest days.

As a normal human being, there are times in life when I think about the situation and become negative, hopeless, tired, exhausted, depressed, and so on.

In such cases, positive thinking is helpful to see the light at the end of the tunnel.

I hope you understand my point.

In those frustrating times, those 15 minutes of having positive thoughts could save your life and prevent you from doing or saying something you may regret in the future.

Therefore, it’s good to be both positive and accurate but be mindful.

Hi, I am a Freelance Content Writer. I write SEO-optimised blogs since 2018. Let’s Connect on LinkedIn (www.linkedin.com/in/marium-shafqat-299a11247) if you are looking for a content writer! Thank You

--

--

Be Hopeful
ILLUMINATION

I share stories related self-development, Travel, and Online earning