Writing Challenge

Thirty Years Later

But, would I have the nerve to actually make the call?

Earnest Painter
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readJul 28, 2020

--

“Hour Glass” by Ömer Ünlü is licensed under CC BY 2.0

Joe Luca gave us at Illumination an unsavory challenge, one that I was going to blow off. Until I read Timothy Key’s response. So, it looks like we’re going to do this.

Challenge: If you could call anyone from your past, who would it be?

My first thought was HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

There are two parts to explaining why this is: Them and Me. That’s how my middle and high school years went, Them vs Me. Particularly middle school. I can’t link back to a story about all of this because I haven’t written it yet, but it’s either bleak or boring. I was socially awkward, we lived in poverty in a little rich town, we moved there when I was twelve. A wonderful age to make that sort of move, looking back. I didn’t have clothes that fit; I just put on garage-sale pants that were far too big and belt–and–cinched them. I was a hit.

This one guy gave all of the signs of being friendly.

As high school progressed things lightened up and I could hold my head up when I walked, but I had trust issues (and anger issues and anxiety issues… ) Though there were a few people I would talk to, I still felt isolated. And home only…

--

--

Earnest Painter
ILLUMINATION

Writer, reader, artist, owner of cats. My novelette, Carmela’s Outside, is due to be released this year. • ratherearnestpainter.com