This Black Woman Created Grunge Music

We need to say Tina Bell’s Name louder

Khadejah
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo via Buttocks Productions

As an avid lover of the grunge glory days with the likes of Nirvana, Soundgarden, Pearl Jam, Alice in Chains, etc, you can’t help but notice there’s still one person who didn’t get their flowers yet.

No, she’s not a long-haired white guy wearing a loose flannel, she’s a black woman — her name is Tina Bell.

A few weeks ago, I got a notification on my phone talking about how Seattle (the birthplace of grunge) locals were gathering at the Central Saloon to celebrate the “godmother of grunge.”

*Next notif*

The “godmother” part of the article made me think “huh, it’s cool that women created grunge.” I didn’t look any further because I thought it was a white woman.

A few weeks later, my sister texts me saying that the godmother of grunge was a black woman.

My jaw fell to the ground.

I almost cried tears of joy.

You see, as a black girl, it’s hard for me to display my music tastes to other black people. I listen to EVERY genre of music except country.

If you looked at my Spotify playlists right now, you’d know that rap and rock are the top genres I listen to (mixed in with some anime theme songs…

--

--

Khadejah
ILLUMINATION

I write about life lessons, writing, social justice, and productivity. New articles published weekly. Follow me on Twitter :https://twitter.com/KhadejahJ22