This is How to Recognize the Un-lived Life Within You

Wisdom from Steven Pressfield

Rebecca Murauskas
ILLUMINATION

--

Man holds a lit lightbulb in his hands. Rebecca Murauskas Medium writer. Steven Pressfield The Resistence work life balance
Photo by Riccardo Annandale on Unsplash

The life I live is rigid and scheduled. I’m constantly conscious of time, for I know that it, along with my energy, is finite.

When I awaken, everything in me desires to stay in bed — relish in the secure warmth and calm, restful state.

Yet, I know I must arise and start my day. I know I must get to work.

There is excitement to do my work. Write stories. Hone my craft. Learn through writing groups and workshops calls.

There is also a great deal of Resistance. Its presence is ever-present.

Writing isn’t easy for me. I’m slow and still learning. Keeping my perfectionism at bay is a daily test of my will. Publish or perfect, publish or perfect?

Reality Check

The thing is, I’m the CEO. I’m the boss and also the employee. My say is both the genesis and conclusion. I work for myself.

No one else is telling me what to do with my day. Sure, I have accountability partners from my writing community, but I won’t face punishment or scolding if my work isn’t done.

Each morning, when I jot down the list of my activities and tasks, they’re mostly related to writing, learning the…

--

--

Rebecca Murauskas
ILLUMINATION

High-Performance Life & Business Coaching. Achieve freedom from anxiety & peace. Free guide: Top 5 Ways to Reduce Stress & Overwhelm at www.RebeccaMurauskas.com