Photo by Brendan Church on Unsplash

This is my framework to make my big (and best) career decisions.

Before making life-changing career decisions, I always ask myself these 5 questions.

Jair Ribeiro
Published in
4 min readJun 7, 2021

--

I’ve started to work in the IT industry very early… my first IT job was at the age of 17, working in a local ISP in the early days of the internet in my city, in Brasil. Some years later, I took my first life-changing career decision: leave Brazil and move to Florence, Italy, in 1998.

In Florence and Milan, Italy, I built the foundation of my enterprise career working at some great companies, including Hewlett-Packard Enterprise… until 2016, I’ve made another life-changing career decision: I accepted a great job offer to leave Italy and move to Poland, to work at IBM… and that great experience, the achievement there and all the knowledge acquired at the Big Blue, led me to the AI & ML Center of Excellence of the Volvo Group.

Everyone finds themselves at some crossroads from time to time. That’s when indecision gains strength, we don’t know which way to go, and we never have the answer to our dilemmas.

And today I want to share a simple but efficient framework to make my best career decisions.

Driving your career decisions

--

--

Jair Ribeiro
ILLUMINATION

Top #5 Global AI Thought Leader, Father, Writer, and Reader