This Karen Wears a Mask

And will happily encourage others to wear one correctly too.

Karen Madej
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo Author’s Own

Does that make me nasty or a meme? I don’t think so.

Costco Karen; Walmart Karen; Starbucks Karen; Target Karen. Name a US retail establishment and there’s probably a viral video of a “Karen” (internet slang for an angry white woman) fuming about face masks in it or getting chased out of the store for refusing to wear one. ~Arwa Madawi, The Guardian.

Both gentlemen I demonstrated to on the bus, on different mornings, accepted my arguments for them to cover their nose with the mask that was covering their mouths.

One blustered, “but I can’t breathe when I cover my nose.”

“I’m sure you can, and it’ll be much easier than trying to breathe on a ventilator.”

“Good point”, he said as his eye creases crinkled and he covered his nose.

The other gentleman said, “but my glasses steam up and I can’t read.”

“Have you got a book with you today?”

“No.”

I smiled. He pulled his mask up to cover his nose.

All three of us were very British about the whole thing. Politeness is free. Was I using white-woman privilege? Not in the UK, I’m on the same level as everyone else…

--

--