Photo by Kai Pilger on Unsplash

Though to Stop Writing

Nurma Komala-Hadi
Published in
4 min readJun 27, 2023

--

Have you ever felt like your brain froze, it’s too boring to scroll any available social media, nothing fun to watch, and sleeping was the last option, and yet your eyes just wouldn’t want to close?

This is why sometimes I tried to find a problem with existing objects I find in my surrounding. Perhaps, my mom, my youngest brother, or my cat, Oyen, who happened to hate it if some feet landed on his body. He just straight will bite, it’s very painful. I felt like I need anger or gloom to write something, but it was never with love or dopamine.

There are times when I want to write something in-depth. Perhaps, reviewing a book or movie, just like what I really wanted to do before I felt stuck. Stuck because imagining how overwhelming to open 15 articles regarding how to make a good review.

Why do we want something so instant to happen?

I don’t want to make an excuse for myself by thinking it is okay to be uninspired sometimes. I couldn’t say that because I know I haven’t put everything into the work I choose to drown.

Perhaps, this is a brainstorming article between myself and my brain and the way its hormone works. So, why do I think to stop writing?

A. You don’t want to stop writing. Basically, lazy and uninspired.

Right, I might be lazy but do you realize the way you see the time or the way the clock is ticking? You are too focused on seeing the due dateline. You’re taking a granted the power of just starting your work. You’re thinking about how impossible it is to write in the remaining 3 hours of your today’s schedule.

For that, I will use simpler words. You’re lazy.

Photo by Wai Siew on Unsplash

No, you’re not inspired. You have something to write but the first paragraph could be a Grim Reaper. It’s a behemoth. I know. But, sometimes 10 minutes of blank paper could be still a blank paper, and let’s consider that as a warm-up.

B. About this In-Depth article you want to write, I mean do you even know the meaning of In-Depth?

Merriem Webster — in-ˌdepth. : covering many or all important points: thorough. an in-depth investigation.

See, you’re just lazy. You are well aware of how complicated this one particular article must have. If you find this version of the problem you must understand the solution is beneath layers upon layers and so on. Sometimes stuck could be a situation when you are unable to find solutions.

C. Read!!! Writing=Reading. Vice Versa.

You mentioned reading 15 articles or even more. So, how about you start to stand up from your chair? Shake your body and yell, if nobody watch you. And remember how many times you’re being lazy and successful to overcome the situation? Yes, it’s a lot.

Don’t just read to finish the article. Let that word of a sentence, or paragraph, appear in your sight as it is about to poke your brain out. Go on, take notes, and grab your pen because you will forget what you’ve just read. So, don’t waste it.

And perhaps you need to watch again the movie you want to review. But, can you do that without suddenly another movie recommendation appearing in your sight and you are going to start binge-watching?

D. You’re a bit narcissistic. All of you.

Exhale.

Well, writing is not inherently joy, is it? We crave claps, responses, and followers. That is all realistic because the way the world works now is thru the number.

You’re not a bad person to think like that. Anyway life itself is bad to bring such harshness to a soul like us, humans. We never even ask to exist. Or demand to breathe.

Again, nothing instant. Perhaps, if luck exists and the quantity of each person is different. Then, what are you going to do? Blaming others beside you? Just remember how long you have doing this activity. Hi, it’s me, I happened to celebrate my 30 days on Medium today. I mean, you’re giving up after 30 days?

So, yeah let’s brew the potion.

--

--