Three Free Tools to Deal with Loneliness

We always ignore what we already have

Writer's Dream
ILLUMINATION
2 min readMar 9, 2024

--

If you feel lonely, here are the free tools to help you.

#1. Doodling

I started doodling in 2020. I did not know its potential to calm the chattering mind. I used to doodle on waste paper or any backside of an A4 printout sheet.

In 2024, I have a separate pocket-size notebook just to doodle.
I have included it in my bedtime ritual to still my mind.

Check this YouTube to get an idea of doodling.

#2. Zentangle

Somebody told me that one closed door opens hundreds of other doors you never thought existed.

During my pursuit to battle with loneliness, I realized its meaning.

I found the stillness of my mind by drawing repeated lines in the zentangle art.

https://zentangle.com/cdn/shop/files/FrontTileBegin-HomePage_2048x.jpg?v=1613695312

Zentangle is the art of drawing patterns with repeated lines.

It helps your mind to focus for some time when it runs wild.

You can check out this website for a quick guide on how to start with it.

You will not need more than a pen/pencil and a small piece of paper.

#3. Mindfulness

There are plenty of online resources that teach you the technique of mindfulness.

However, I will mention the ones that helped me a lot.

54321 technique

It’s a simple grounding technique to reduce anxiety. You focus on five things you see, four things you touch, three things you hear, two things you smell, and one thing you taste.

This technique brings your mind to the present moment.

Embrace the pain

In the book — Handbook for Hard Days, Gelong Thubten mentioned embracing the pain instead of pushing it away. When you become one with the pain, it does not bother you anymore.

Visualize what you desire

Dr. Joe Diapenza says to visualize your desired outcome even if you are in an exact opposite situation. Visualization helps the brain to shift the focus from worrying to meditating on what you desire.

Let Them theory

When others’ expectations overwhelm you, use Mel Robbin’s Let Them theory to release control over what is beyond your control.

Final Takeaway

To summarise, take the help of these free techniques to beat the loneliness and bring fun in your alone time.
1. Start doodling
2. Do zentangle art
3. Include mindfulness in your daily routine
4. Do breathwork

Click here to get a free ebook on 10 ways to live an authentic life.

--

--