Time For A Self Evaluation

Chasing Dreams
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readJun 21, 2020

--

What am I doing wrong?

“Self-awareness gives you the capacity to learn from your mistakes as well as your successes. It enables you to keep growing.” — Lawrence Bossidy

My writing sucks!

I am troubled. I have always been an advocate of self-awareness and self-improvement, and I find myself desperately needing both.

We are our own keepers. Ultimately we are responsible for who we are, where we are in life, and how we feel about ourselves.

That is why I feel like an imposter.

Throughout my adult life, I have strived to become better, work harder, and be competent in whatever I do.

Sometimes I have failed, and I shudder from the mistakes I have made. If I let myself wallow in self-pity, I can feel it seeping into me, and I become a smaller person; my self-confidence leaks from me. I am sure if I looked, I would see a pool of it at my feet.

I avoid looking. I push away from that feeling.

Self Doubt

Writing is terrifying. I am hesitant about every part of it. I write, then I edit, I read and re-read and then do more editing. Sometimes I just let it sit there, and I walk…

--

--

Chasing Dreams
ILLUMINATION

Discovering the joy of writing. Wandering through life one step at a time and following the magic.