Tintin: My Favourite Comics

A celebration of Herge’s classic comic creation

Simon Dillon
ILLUMINATION
Published in
13 min readJul 5, 2021

--

Photo by Author

I will never forget the day I discovered Tintin. I was eight years old and visiting a school friend, when I noticed an open comic book on his bedroom floor. A series of easy-to-follow panels featured a tufty-haired young protagonist stealing onto a ship in the dead of night, looking for a friend who had been kidnapped.

Photo by Author

I was immediately gripped by the atmospheric quality of the artwork and became immersed in the adventure in seconds. I read a fair chunk, following Tintin, Captain Haddock, and Snowy through a series of escapades featuring runaway trains, dangerous mountain expeditions, attacking condors, and treacherous jungles with deadly snakes. However, I had to leave before finishing the story, so when I returned home, I urged my parents to buy it for me.

Thus began my lifelong love affair with The Adventures of Tintin by Herge. In the intervening years, I’ve read each story countless times, watched the various TV adaptations (of variable quality), enjoyed Steven Spielberg’s motion-capture mash-up of a couple of key adventures in his 2011 film The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn

--

--

Simon Dillon
ILLUMINATION

Novelist and Short Story-ist. Film and Book Lover. If you cut me, I bleed celluloid and paper pulp. Blog: www.simondillonbooks.wordpress.com