To DREAM

Gentle Pencil
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readNov 4, 2023
Image courtesy of @mike-kit on Pexels

A year after I discovered my passion, I began making a list.

When I’m rich.

That’s what I called it. In this section of my note app, I wrote down all the people I wanted to help when I got the money I desired. I wrote down the bad experiences they were going through and how I was going to alleviate their troubles.

Not only this, I noted down all the things I wanted to buy for my parents. The house I wanted them to live in and the car I would gift my father. It’s an ISUZU Dmax. I asked him one time what his dream car was, and he told me he had always fancied an ISUZU wizard. Unfortunately, they went out of production a long time ago. In fact, that was the first time I was hearing that name. So, I guess one of these turbo diesel D’maxes will have to do.

Besides that, I wanted to get him and his sweetheart matching phones. iPhones, to be precise since they are all simple creatures. All they want from a phone is a good battery life, a great camera, reliable connectivity, and security. Unlike me who tinkers with all the settings I can, on a one-week-old phone.

I wrote down all the places I wanted to take them, the vacations they never had. Not that he couldn’t afford it, but just because I watched him sacrifice for so many people. He traded his wants for their needs. Our needs. Everyone else’s but his. So, I decided I’d get all his wants for him one day. Not only him but there are also so many people on this list.

I also listed all my friends who are working menial boring jobs but are truly passionate about something else. This is my list of the people I would invest in. The people whom I know will treasure their business as if it were their own blood and bones, like a child. Pretty balsy for a guy who is yet to achieve any milestone in his passion journey. So why did I decide to create this list?

I don’t want to be washed up. I don’t want to be a one-hit-wonder. I don’t want to be that guy who became famous suddenly and then a year later disappears, because he couldn’t handle success and all that came with it. It is as if they weren’t prepared for it. They never thought past the point where they achieved all their dreams. They never asked themselves, “What next?”

I didn’t want to be that guy. I didn’t want to be the person whom money changed for the worse. I’m not saying money and success shouldn’t change you. It should, but, it should never make you forget who you are and why you began that journey in the first place.

I often look at famous billionaires; authors, actors, and business moguls as they give their famous speeches. When receiving an award, or an honorary doctorate from a university. They are usually oozing of wisdom.

They are like an endless river of great ideas and advice.

I keep hoping that by the time I achieve that level of success, I will be as wise as them in my speeches and great with my deeds as well. I hope I can drop any bad habits that might be a negative influence on my fans. Be a role model for that kid watching my interview with his eyes burning with desire fueled by his dreams and aspirations, like I was back in the days.

“The effect you have on people is the most valuable currency there is.” Jim Carrey.

Most importantly I hope I get to know what the world needs which my passion can provide. From there, I can give it my all, and maybe one day, I’ll be up there with the greats, next to Kobe, Jim, Obama, Rowling, Jordan, Oprah, and the rest. Up until then, all I can do is dream big and believe in my dreams because if I don’t, no one else will do it for me.

Keep believing in yours as well.

From yours truly,

GP.

--

--

Gentle Pencil
ILLUMINATION

I'm a passionate writer and an avid reader interested in all things on self development and living a fulfilling life.