To Whom Believed I’m Peaceful By Nature

Why have I become more peaceful? Someone once told me that peaceful people live longer… just joking.

Mayss
ILLUMINATION
3 min readApr 1, 2023

--

I, for sure, haven’t lived for a long time yet in this world. Yet, for sure too, I can tell that I’ve had a lot of changes in the way I think, thus in how I behave.

To whom believed I used to see la vie en rose,

to whom thought I was always naïve,

to whom assumed I’ve seen no hardships,

well, perhaps you were somehow right to have that impression, but now that you’ve seen a little more of life, do you still think so?

Let me tell you one thing which I doubt my short life has taught me wrong:

To be peaceful is a result. It’s a decision. It’s a succession of efforts and acts.

Photo by Remy Gieling on Unsplash

It’s you who controls your acts, whether you’ll react or not, and whether something is worth being angry for or not.

Surrendering to your reflexes is condemning and you will have to deal with the consequences later. How many times did you end up regretting what you’ve said or done? Was it today? The fact that you failed today at relaxing your anger should remain relative to today only. It doesn’t mean it’s a trait of yours. It does have an impact on tomorrow’s result, sure, but it’s not fatal. Even it has a good side to it: If you succeed one time, it encourages you to keep up with those efforts you’re making, for the sake of your well-being. And? Yeah, what comes after?

Peacefulness becomes a habit.

Like one said:

“Repetition of the same thought or physical action develops into a habit which, repeated frequently enough, becomes an automatic reflex.”

You may tell me that it’s not that simple, that the concept of “peace” is itself so idealistic, and that it cannot be achievable. Then what? Do nothing?

Sure, peace is more or less an idealistic thing, one cannot achieve it every day and so, not every day is peaceful and serene. Thus, it’s not very accurate to say “become a peaceful person” but adding a “more” is crucial for it to have a realistic sense, and for your mind to accept it. Indeed, it is a sort of training. You train yourself to have this idea of “Fighting is not worth it” and get to act before your inner outraged feeling gets to do so. Be sure that you’ll reach that day when you’ll finally, by reflex, ignore someone provoking you, or when you won’t mind something that usually seemed silly to you which you couldn’t help but react to. A fruitful day, that is, and so is the journey to becoming more and more peaceful.

And after all, peaceful people do indeed live longer!

Thanks for reading my little article and sharing your perspectives with me.

Your claps will be a sign of your appreciation and acknowledgment, so thanks for clapping too :p

Take care!

--

--

Mayss
ILLUMINATION

Bursts of sudden ideas that is. I write about my thoughts, maybe yours too! ;)