Top 3 Writing Monsters and How I Tamed Them

My 3 biggest struggles as a new writer were:

Ani A. Asatryan
ILLUMINATION
5 min readOct 6, 2023

--

  1. Self-doubt
  2. Chasing the ‘Perfect Sentence’
  3. Procrastination

Lost in Self Doubt

Ever missed your own award ceremony? I did, thanks to my old pal, Self Doubt.

My buddy calls, all excited, and breaks the news — I’ve won an award. Me? I couldn’t even believe it, especially at 21. Attending the event? Nope, not in my wildest dreams.

I submitted my work on a whim, with zero expectations. It was a spur-of-the-moment decision, a shot in the dark.

Illustration by Ani A. Asatryan

Man in Chase of the ‘Perfect Sentence’

I used to be Ms. Consistency, pounding out words every single day. But guess what? One day, out of nowhere, I wake up, and there it is — my inner critic, just chillin’ in my head.

And then, just yesterday, words flowed like a smooth groove on a funky dance floor. Fear of failure? Yeah, it became my new bestie. And that endless revision loop? Trust me, it’s like a maze you can’t escape.

So, here’s the deal: What was meant to be a quick write-up? It turned into this never-ending rollercoaster of edits and self-doubt. Seriously, I aged ten years in a week.

My inner perfectionist? Oh, that guy was a real buzzkill. My drafts? They collected dust like ancient relics!

And those paragraphs? Well, they were dancing like nobody’s business! And me? I morphed into a knight in shining armor, but instead of dragons, I was battling the ‘Perfect Sentence.’ It got so ridiculous that even Don Quixote would’ve given me a look and said, “Easy, buddy.”

So, there you have it, my relentless quest for that ever-elusive ‘Perfect Sentence.’

Illustration by Ani A. Asatryan

Procrastination Blame Game

Ever had those brilliant ideas bouncing around your noggin all day long? Characters, stories, scenes — it’s like a party up there.

But here’s the kicker: when the creative juices are flowing, you’re stuck at the daily grind. And by the time you’re back home, you’re either drowning in chores or too wiped out to write.

Sound familiar, right?

Even the literary heavyweight Franz Kafka wrestled with the procrastination beast. In his journal, he let out a good ol’ vent about time slipping through his fingers without getting anything done. Kafka’s words hit home — that frustrating feeling when procrastination gets the upper hand. He knew the struggle of keeping that creative flame alive.

Illustration by Ani A. Asatryan

To all you fellow writers dealing with the same beasts, here’s the wisdom that helped me to tame those beasts:

Conquering the Hydra of Self-doubt

Self-doubt isn’t picky; it visits everyone: fighter pilots, Navy SEALs, Medium Creators, and yes, even CEOs. It shows up at every party as if that uninvited guest.

Sure, sometimes, self-doubt plays nice, keeping us from doing stupid stuff. Yet, it’s also the gremlin that loves to trip you when you’re chasing your dreams.

We all want to be the heroes of our own stories, right? To conquer chaos, own life, and shoot for the stars.

But here’s the reality check:

positive thinking, catchy slogans, and affirmations won’t cut it. Nope, that’s just feel-good guru fluff.

To slay this self-doubt Hydra, you need to get down and dirty. I’m talking old-school hard work and some serious brain workouts. No magic shortcuts.

So, here’s the deal:

self-doubt might be a beast, but you? You’re the dragon-slaying hero. It’s a journey, perhaps months, maybe years, and there’s no express route. Charge forth and conquer that Hydra, one word at a time!

Perfectionism: The Silent Creativity Killer

Perfectionism creeps in when you write for others’ approval. Writing is meant for you to express yourself, not to impress. Shift that mindset, and words will flow freely. For instance, I’m not scripting this to ‘impress’ you. I don’t have a Word doc with 99 drafts, striving for perfection. NO! I just go with the flow. Don’t aim to craft a masterpiece. Simply jot down your thoughts and feelings. You can always decide what to share later. Not everything needs to go public.

Now, about that perfectionism:

it’s a twisted, malfunctioning system. If you genuinely want to get things right (not just say you do), you must cast aside perfectionism. It’s a weight that holds you back.

Opt for something real, even with its flaws, over a perfect dream forever locked in your mind, never brought to life.

Conquering the Hydra of Procrastination

You ever hear about Diana Gabaldon?

She’s the genius behind Outlander, and guess where she wrote it? In the dead of night.

Steven King?

Wrote his early stuff in the breakroom of an industrial laundry while juggling a day job.

And me? I’m scribbling during nap-time.

So, here’s the reality check:

if it truly matters, you’ll find a way. Set that darn alarm an hour earlier. Scribble on your lunch break. Make writing a habit before hitting the hay. Discipline, folks, it’s your ticket to wake that muse. Sure, inspiration’s nice, but if you’re in this for the long haul, you won’t always feel it.

Now, here’s a golden nugget: Write with the door closed.

No TV blaring, no internet rabbit holes, and for the love of all things holy, no texting. Heck, even consider unplugging your computer and tucking that cell phone away. If necessary, close those blinds like a ninja.

Writing ain’t all rainbows and unicorns. Waiting for the muse to drop by is a fool’s errand. Train yourself to write, even when the mood’s playing hide and seek.

When I started, my “writing chamber” didn’t even have a proper door. So, I played MacGyver and plugged my ears with earplugs. The cool thing is, it’s portable — seclusion, anywhere you go.

Now, let’s talk about those “other things” at home that suck up your time. Do they ever get done? Maybe it’s time for a basic daily schedule and a to-do list to come to the rescue. If you genuinely love writing and want to make it a real gig, it’s time to sort your priorities. What absolutely needs doing? What you’re itching to do? And what’s realistically doable in a day or a week?

Ask yourself some hard questions:

Do you like your job? Enjoy home life? What chores are nagging at you before you can even think about writing? How much sleep do you need? Could it be you’re not procrastinating on writing but using it to dodge those less-than-fun tasks? Are you dodging finishing other things in your life?

Let’s be real, every gig has its “meh” parts, but that’s all part of the game.

P.S. Here’s my top trick:

If I’m excited about something, I don’t procrastinate.
If I’m not excited about something, I procrastinate.
If I’m not excited about something, I find a way to get excited about it.

--

--

Ani A. Asatryan
ILLUMINATION

Featured in Words Without Borders and Absinthe by the University of Michigan reaching 750K worldwide. Let's connectand collab.: https://www.linkedin.com/in/ania