Trader Joe’s Greek Salad With Gyro Meat

An easy meal to throw together on a busy night

Geri Shumer
ILLUMINATION
3 min readSep 2, 2020

--

Photo By Geri Shumer

I was walking through the aisles of Trader Joe’s trying to find some new and interesting meal ideas to excite my family. Everyone is getting tired of the same old meal rotation choices, especially during the pandemic. I am not a huge fan of pre-cooked packaged meat, but something made me pick up the package of Daphne’s Beef and Lamb Gyro Slices and put it in my cart.

On my way home I thought about how I could use them — I could make a gyro; I could make a Greek salad; I could make a Greek bowl… the possibilities were plentiful.I was in a healthy mood, so I opted for the Greek salad and hoped I could come close to re-creating the one from our favorite Greek restaurant. And, surprisingly, I almost did! The meal was a hit and my family gave it rave reviews!

The gyro meat was flavorful and tender and not too garlicky (which is always a problem for my husband). The package came with two sealed packs, each one containing 12 ounces of meat, which was perfect for four salads. And, according to the “Best By” date, I could keep them in my refrigerator for about a month. It was a quick meal to throw together and it put smiles on the faces of everyone at the table. That is a success in my book!

All in all, I am glad I got over my fear of pre-packaged meat and gave them a shot.

Ingredients:

1 12oz package of Daphne’s Beef and Lamb Gyro Slices (found in the refrigerated section of Trader Joe’s

2 6oz. packages of pre-washed lettuce (I used sweet Butter lettuce, but Romaine or Iceberg would also work well)

1 Beefsteak tomato1 Kirby cucumber, sliced

1 red pepper, chopped

8 pitted Kalmata olives, sliced

2 T fresh dill, chopped

3oz. crumbled feta cheese

4oz. Greek salad dressing (I used dressing from my favorite Greek restaurant that bottles it themselves, but any store bought brand will do)

Half of a small red onion, chopped (optional)

4 store bought pitas (pocketless)

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 250 degrees. Wrap pita in tin foil and place in oven.

2. Put gyro slices in large pan on medium heat and warm for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. (The package says 4 minutes but I found that was not enough time to warm through and I like my gyro a little more well-done).

3. While gyro is heating, chop lettuce in large bowl. Add tomatoes, cucumber, pepper, olives, dill and onions (optional). Pour salad dressing on and toss.

4. Top with feta cheese and gyro slices. Serve with pita. YUM!

Note: I am not sponsored by Trader Joe’s nor am I paid to endorse their products. I just happen to be a big fan of their store!

Photo By Geri Shumer

--

--

Geri Shumer
ILLUMINATION

Foodie, travel enthusiast and dog lover. Available for writing projects.