Transition

The day something surprised me with kindness.

Robert Shaneyfelt
ILLUMINATION
Published in
Feb 18, 2022

--

Photo by Israel Palacios on Unsplash

“Kindness begins with that understanding that we all struggle.” — Charles Glassman

Once at a time of much turbulence, I was in a metaphoric battle with my corpulent foes.

The corpulent ones were many, I was just one.

My odds weren’t good, prods from the corpulent ones continued one after one, my angel then appeared.

Translucent to my enemy, her kindness showed no fear. With my angel as a witness. What could go wrong?

The tide of the battle became so lopsided as if they suddenly became farsighted and couldn’t see their toes.

If not for the surprise of my angel, most likely I would be doomed. It’s funny, what kindness did for my morale, no less than giving me the laurel.

Close, but far from the end. Without my angels' kindness, I surely would have had a different destiny…

--

--

Robert Shaneyfelt
ILLUMINATION

I received my Bachelor of Electrical Engineering from Trine University. “To write about life first, you must live it.” - Ernest Hemingway