HUMILITY | PRINCIPLES | MINDSET

True Humility

How to use humility to encourage others

Tim Maudlin
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readJun 8, 2020

--

Photo by Goran Horvat on Pixabay

True humility is not thinking less of yourself; it is thinking of yourself less.
~ Rick Warren, The Purpose Driven Life: What on Earth Am I Here for?

In previous stories, I’ve shared instances where my friends have encouraged me. In each of those stories, there has been a principle in play.

I would like to dig deeper into this principle and look at ways that we can apply it in our lives. And suggest some things that we can do in order to activate this principle.

Today’s topic is humility.

When you have a humility mindset, you will be motivated to encourage others.

As our quote mentioned, true humility is not that you think less of yourself, you just think of yourself less. In other words, you think more about others. As we consider this idea of thinking more of others, let me suggest to you a couple of ways.

First: Value others more than yourself. Hold them in high regard. Treat others as more important than yourself.

Second: Esteem others more than yourself. Respect and admire others more than yourself.

--

--

Tim Maudlin
ILLUMINATION

Podcaster | Storyteller | Journaling Coach | Want to Declutter Your Mind? I Encourage Creativity and Soul-Searching with the Power of Pen to Paper