Try Not to Feel Ashamed, Dear One

Halimah K.
ILLUMINATION
Published in
1 min readSep 6, 2020
Photo by Blake Cheek on Unsplash

Many times, we fall short of expectations imposed on us

The stronger humans amongst us are able to shrug it off and move forward

The rest of us are saddled with the shame and guilt of not meeting up

For years, I’ve pushed through my life living under the shadows of people that mattered

Doing actions influenced by what someone would think, or say, or do- when they find out

But I’m learning to take control of my life as I grow older

To be responsible for my actions means that I have my full consent in carrying them out

It’s time that I let go of the shame of wanting, of desires, of needs

And I embrace the complexity of being human.

--

--

Halimah K.
ILLUMINATION

I write about small improvements that make life a little more fulfilling.