Try This Free Website to Homeschool Your Kids Even if You Don’t Want to

People hate on homeschooling, but if you want 5 minutes of silence like I do, this is the perfect way to do it.

Shea Hulse
ILLUMINATION

--

homeschool
Photo by Eugene Chystiakov on Unsplash

I don’t homeschool my kids, not yet, at least. I’ve been on the fence about it since they were born. Am I qualified enough? What about socialization?

I don’t want to rob them of the experiences that I had as a child. They deserve to go to prom and school dances and have crushes on whoever they please. But I’m not going to tell you I feel good about it.

The landscape of American education isn’t what I grew up with, especially in my small town. There was definitely sheltering in my hometown, it’s two square miles, and I graduated with tons of kids I went to kindergarten with.

By tons, I mean probably half of the 137 that graduated with me also went to kindergarten with me. I still live nearby and while it hasn’t changed much, the schools have.

Homeschooling isn’t for everyone.

Let me preface this by saying that I went to school for education and I have a degree in early childhood education. So I may be more suited for it than others, even though I stopped pursuing teaching as a profession.

--

--

Shea Hulse
ILLUMINATION

Wife and mom of two. My books are steamy paranormal romances full of magic and mystery. I help entrepreneurial women do the same. Traveller. Dreamer. Free.