Twenty Years Ago I Died

And, oddly enough, my friends who witnessed my death were already smiling minutes later.

Juliano Righetto
ILLUMINATION

--

I died at the beginning of April 2001. Brazil only found out on the 8th of the same month. In other words, officially, today it is twenty years since I “died.”

Me, hugged with my “killer,” right after my death, with a shot in the forehead—author’s photo.

I’ll explain: I was part of General Neto’s troop when camped in the pampas of Rio Grande do Sul. During the night, our camp was invaded by surprise by imperial soldiers. Even perplexed, I managed to get out of my tent and kill four imperials using my saber… But a fifth approached me while I fought, aimed his rifle at my head, and fired a straight shot.

It took me about five seconds to start falling.

First, my forehead exploded. For a while, I stood there, “not understanding” what happened … Until I felt the blood reach my nose.

It was then that I started to fall towards the ground, like a wax doll that melts.

I died exactly as the director asked.

Okay, of course, who died was Lorenzo, the character I represented in the miniseries “Seven Women,” not me.

When he read that Lorenzo would die in the last chapter, the director had the idea: how about we make his death spectacular, in a way that had never been done on Brazilian…

--

--

Juliano Righetto
ILLUMINATION

“We are nearsighted because we are brief.” Actor, Screenwriter, Author, Top Writer 2019 and 2020 on Quora in Portuguese with more than 26 million views.