Twitter, Freedom of Speech, and Just Another Life

Meliha Avdic
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readApr 29, 2022

--

Photo by Ardian Lumi on Unsplash

Freedom of speech is a really tough cookie, isn’t it? Do we want it? Do we not want it? When is it a good idea, and when is it a bad, terrible, horrific idea? Many will agree that in the case of Hitler it was a very, very bad idea, but then in the case of Nelson Mandela, it was a great idea.

Elon Musk recently purchased Twitter (sort of speak) apparently because he wants freedom of speech. I have to admit that Twitter has become a bit dull lately, but I’m not sure why. For me, it’s more about the tweets that show up on my homepage. I’m not one of those people who go down the list of their followers and visit their profiles on a regular basis. Perhaps that’s a bit lazy, I expect good tweets on my homepage, but it’s the way I am.

On the other hand, I’ve had trouble with bots, genocide deniers, and haters. Bots, obviously, we can just chuck those out. Genocide deniers and haters are people expressing their opinion. The first group, the deniers, well they can be dealt with easily — Genocide in Srebrenica is a fact, there is a ruling, whole bunch of stuff that shows the genocide did take place. These individuals are simply refusing to accept the facts, and they don’t care enough about humanity to think what it means when they openly refuse to accept such a horrific fact. Should they be entitled to freedom of speech, especially considering…

--

--

Meliha Avdic
ILLUMINATION

Born in Bosnia, grew up in the UK-another war child, yes. Passionate about people and the state of society. A bit of a maverick, apparently. www.meliha.uk