Uber Mindfulness

Does it exist?

Marlane Ainsworth
ILLUMINATION

--

Red bike and scooter on pavement lined with dry leaves. Yellow wall. Two doors.
Photo by Lucian Alexe on Unsplash

Using Uber, I can order a ride, a meal, a courier or freight service, a bicycle or scooter.

I don’t want any of these things.

What I want is a package of instant Mindfulness delivered to my door. I want it delivered right now. Preferably gift-wrapped and ready to use. I don’t want instructions about how to assemble Mindfulness using hammer and nails or heavy-duty liquid glue, or how to care for and water it so it grows.

Once I’ve got my package of instant Mindfulness, I’m going to put it in my purple handbag and carry it around with me, so I always have it.

Uber isn’t offering it at the moment. Is anyone?

A Google search unearths a definition of mindfulness by Jon Kabat-Zinn.

Mindfulness is the awareness that arises from paying attention, on purpose, in the present moment and non-judgmentally.

Hmm. That’s not the sort of thing one can order. It can’t be packaged. It’s something that one is. It’s how one approaches things. It’s a take on life. A way of being in the world.

In The Gift of Presence, Caroline Welch, discussing awareness, presence and mindfulness, writes:

--

--

Marlane Ainsworth
ILLUMINATION

Memoir writer. Spiritual writing. Signposts for living are embedded in daily life. Notice messages from your heart and soul. https://www.marlaneainsworth.com