Ulf Wolf Bio

Some Bits and Pieces

Ulf Wolf
ILLUMINATION
Published in
7 min readMar 27, 2021

--

Image by Author

My name is Ulf Wolf. Ulf is a Swedish name that once upon a long time ago meant Wolf. So, yes, Wolf Wolf, or Wolf squared, that’s me. Some wiseacre once suggested my name sounds like barking; oh, well.

I was born Ulf Ronnquist (meaning branch of rowan tree) one snowy night in late October, in one of those northern Swedish towns that are little more than a clearing in the forest.

Fast forward through twenty Swedish years, ten or so English ones, and another twenty-four in the US and you’ll find me in front of an immigrations officer conducting the final citizenship interview, at the end of which he asks me, “What name would you like on your passport?”

And here I recall what a friend had told me, that you can pick just about any name you want at this point, and I heard me say “Ulf Wolf.”

That’s how it happened. Scout’s honor.

Of course, I had been using Ulf Wolf as a pen name for some time before this interview, but I hadn’t really planned to adopt that as my official U.S. name. But I did.

I have written stories all my life. Initially in Swedish, but for the last twenty or so years in English. To date I have written seven novels, five novellas and two scores of stories; along with a basketful of songs and poems.

--

--

Ulf Wolf
ILLUMINATION

Raised by trolls in northern Sweden, now settled on the California coast a stone’s throw south of the Oregon border. Here I meditate and write. Wolfstuff.com.