Unexpected Life Lessons I Learned From Washing Dishes

People have crossed across oceans, scaled peaks, consulted Life Coaches, and spent years finding the true essence of life. Never have we thought that washing dishes could teach profound life lessons.

Aashi Sethiya
ILLUMINATION
6 min readOct 7, 2020

--

Photo from Pixabay by Engin_Akyurt

“One can only note that the past is beautiful because one never realises an emotion at that time”- Virginia Wolf

Today I won’t tell you that Quarantine made me stronger, self-dependent, or it put a new perspective on life. I won’t tell you this because it’s apparent and relatively temporary.

Looking back at the last seven months, I quote- Quarantine was like the life coach we never asked.

Although, today, we disseminate the world of washing dishes. Shall we?

Musings from Washing Dishes

1. Fear Dismissal

That day of Quarantine was my turn to do “it.”

I looked at the overflowing pile, and fear crawled in. Post an extravagant dinner, the only thing that rises is the heap of utensils. You can call me a warrior, but I dismissed my fear.

I grabbed my washing gloves and gave a fake smile to life to teach me to take up this laborious task. You become a warrior every time you keep aside that thought of fear and take on that task.

The other day I cycled long distance for the first time, 70 km covered displayed on my phone.

Was I an amateur? Yes.

Was it easy? Not really.

Can you do it? Of course, when you look past that heap of dishes and dive right in.

Dismiss that fear today.

2. Will The Glove Ever Fit?

Have you encountered situations when you felt like a misfit? When things always seemed to go amiss? When the new people you just met seemed to intimidate you? That new course you just took up seemed like a nightmare?

My gloves, too, felt the same. They never seemed to stay in place. Most of the time, they tried to slip away.

But, I endured.

Most of the time, the things we get in life won’t be an exact fit for us: the people, situations.

What I have been doing is either replacing people or abandoning the site. Well, quitting is my most favorite task. Isn’t it the easiest?

But retake a look, if those gloves never fit you well, would you ever know the crisis that accompanies it. If then you decide to quit, will that crisis be of any value? How will you tell your success story to others? Will you be able to brag about the gazillion dishes you washed?

3. Is The Soap Water Ever Enough?

I assume you’ll know the mechanics behind making the perfect soap water to bathe your dishes.

Don’t get startled. To get the correct ratio is an art. I had been taught that young in life.

But no one taught me how to decide the quantity. Isn’t it subjective to the number of dishes?

Well, no one teaches you the real things in life.

Has anyone taught you for how long you are supposed to stay angry with someone? When you are supposed to give up on someone, or when is it time to get things, right?

We have relied so much on people teaching us the ratio of soap water that now we need them for deciding the quantity also. Haven’t we flooded ourselves with data and virtual teachers around to fall on when anything goes wrong?

I, for the most extended time, relied on my mother and Wikipedia. Every issue had an answer solved by them. Sounds harmless?

Well, they forgot to teach me many things. To name a few, emotional juggling, strategizing, to be receptive.

Let me give you a spoiler. No one will teach you that.

That day, I had to make the soap water two times as the first time didn’t suffice for all the dishes.

Have you learned to make your soap water?

4. Divide, Align & Rule

“Arrange whatever comes your way”- Virginia Wolf

Skip this point if you arent a Habit-making lover.

I know you wouldn’t skip. Who doesn’t like to strategies their dishwashing game?

I found this cool technique when the dish stack gets longer than your height. Just divide. Do in batches.

Cut to chase. I’ll share about Specification and Habit Stacking that I learned from the book Atomic Habits.

Specification- Making a crystal clear plan of the habit/ task you plan to do

For instance, if you plan to start writing a blog every day.

Write down when you will sit to write, how your surroundings will be like, will you need a food package at the side to fuel your brain.

Will you need a book to jot down things. What will your strategy be if you feel bored in between? Do you have enough motivational videos in your watch later playlist? Go to the exact details. Live the whole blog writing in your head, the day before you start.

Habit Stacking- Create a small atom habit, do it tomorrow, and stack a new atom habit over that. Add new patterns to previously formed ones.

I used these principles to set a morning routine.

Next time you see that pile of dishes laughing at you, remember that you need to Divide, Align, and Rule!

5. Water Clogging & Other Life Issues

I made a mistake to unclog the sink by poking my hand in between those soaped dishes. If you have your gloves on, all the water will seep in.

What did I learn?

Even when every day you listen to motivational videos, read books, apply solutions to life. Sometimes in life, you forgot common sense.

Even after having many protective layers preventing us from toppling in the pitfall, we may still fall. It’s completely human.

We may get the dirt on our hands, at times.

So, what do you do? Do you let the dirty water make your skin all crumpled?

You remove the water, and so will you to all the failures. Tear off that page from your book(not literally) that says you fell.

Unlearning the wrong moves takes time. Give yourself that time.

It took me nearly four years to unlearn the toxic stress cycle that used to hit before any exam.

6. Are Burnt Vessels Burnt?

I have encountered many burnt vessels in my journey as a Quarantine dishwasher. When I was amateur at the job, I believed the burnt bottom is permanently gone for good. My mother pointed out, sternly, otherwise.

I had got it all wrong.

Haven’t we all have some wrong perceptions about situations, people. We churn those negative perceptions, make them stronger, and blind us.

That day, I took the hard scrubber, I went all in to scrub that black patch from the burnt vessel, from my preset notions. Was I successful in removing it? Yes, the black patch went away, changing the perceptions will take some time.

Final Thoughts

  1. Look around, do chores, and keep learning.
  2. Diminish the fear.
  3. Don’t let your misfitting pull you back.
  4. Stop relying on others, technology. Let your brain churn more for you.
  5. Build small habits and align(I know there is calm in the chaos, but it doesn’t apply to all life situations)
  6. If the hands get dirty, wash it. No one is going to do that for you.
  7. Change your perspectives about basic things in life.

Hi, I’m Aashi Sethiya, a Physiotherapy intern. I love writing about life lessons, books, and daily issues. I have an inkling towards social work and fitness. Also, did I mention that I can bake mean lasagne too? If you like what you read and want to discuss it further, you can connect with me here.

--

--