Until we Meet Again

A poem

Davidhollis
ILLUMINATION

--

Author photo

I remember when you were young
and how every day with you the sun shone
we ran together in the warm breeze
I held your hand when you skinned your knees.

And every day I loved you
my heart ached for the sight of you
your hair so golden in the sunshine
your lips so warm against mine.

Now you’re gone I don’t know what to do
the days are so long without you
I sit and reminisce here on my own
about the days when I was not alone.

Nothing’s the same without you
you are gone and part of my heart too
but death comes for all of us
it doesn’t seem fair, but yes it does.

I sit and remember when you were young
and how every day the sun shone
we ran together and we were never apart
I held your hand and you held my heart.

You are gone but you still live on
in my memories we still run
and when death comes to take me too
I won’t be sad, I’ll be coming back to you
watch for me, I’ll be running back to you.

--

--

Davidhollis
ILLUMINATION

I live on the beautiful coastline in Northland, New Zealand. I have published two books and also write a blog — https://www.facebook.com/breadonthewaters/