Upwork: A game to Bottom? Or an Entreprenaur’s Beginning

Debaditya
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readAug 29, 2024
Image Designed by Author

Before diving into my story, let me introduce myself. I’m a freelancer, just like many of you, who took the plunge into the world of online work. After three years on Upwork, I’ve achieved the title of Top Rated Freelancer. Was it easy? Not at all. But was it worth it? Absolutely.

I didn’t make millions, but I made enough to sustain myself, and that’s what counts, right? Honestly, it still feels surreal to earn a living just with access to the internet, a laptop, and a basic understanding of communication that I picked up in grade school.

My Journey on Upwork

When I started freelancing, the competition was tough, but not as fierce as it is today. My first contract? A whopping $5. And no, it wasn’t even for a coding job! But slowly, I transitioned into full-stack development with a focus on Chrome extension development and web automation.

My earnings didn’t skyrocket overnight. In fact, during my first year, I made around $3,000 — not much, I know. But the second year was different. I started earning about $2,000 a month working on two contracts simultaneously. It was hectic, but completely worth the effort.

After becoming Top Rated, things really took off. I landed a $1,500 contract for a 10-day task. However, let me be clear: landing these high-paying contracts isn’t easy. You have to apply to countless job listings, and with Upwork’s “connects” system, you even have to spend money just to submit proposals.

The “Race to the Bottom”

Here’s where the tricky part comes in — especially for newcomers. There’s a real “race to the bottom” on platforms like Upwork. Many clients prioritize budget over quality, and for freelancers just starting out, this can be discouraging. You’ll often find yourself competing against people willing to work for rock-bottom prices, which can make it hard to break through.

However, this dynamic changes as you gain experience and build a strong reputation. Once you become Top Rated or Top Rated Plus, you’re in a position to be more selective with your clients. You start receiving multiple invites to job posts and can confidently pass on the low-ball offers, knowing that better opportunities are around the corner.

Is Upwork Still Worth It?

So, is Upwork still worth it? The answer depends on where you are in your freelancing journey. For established freelancers with experience, it’s a fantastic platform that provides access to high-quality clients and lucrative contracts.

But for those just starting out, the landscape has changed. As of June, Upwork introduced a fee just to register as a freelancer. For students and fresh graduates like I once was, this can be a significant barrier. Even after paying the registration fee, there’s no guarantee of landing a job — you still need to buy connects and apply regularly.

My Advice for New Freelancers

If you’re just getting started, consider exploring other platforms like Fiverr. It’s often easier to land your first gigs there, and once you’ve built up some momentum, you can transition to platforms like Upwork that offer higher-paying opportunities.

In the end, freelancing on Upwork can be a challenging yet rewarding experience. It’s not a get-rich-quick scheme, but with persistence and smart strategies, you can build a sustainable and successful freelance career.

--

--

Debaditya
ILLUMINATION

The impossible becomes possible in an ever ever land. Do you dare to believe? I'm Debaditya Banerji, a boy turned man turned developer turned writer 😂