Visit Port Gamble, Washington

A place to eat, shop, get married, and see ghosts!

Christopher
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Adrien Olichon on Unsplash

“If you hurry you might make this ferry,” she said, handing back a receipt with my debit card. This was a challenge.

We drove across the empty waiting lanes. Caught a green light, turned left. “Slow down! They’ll yell at us if you’re going over 20!” Jessica laughed. We glided right onto the ferry. The last car to board.

Ferry workers hosed down the boat where cars left oil and dirt as they loaded. I watched a man in a bright orange vest place wooden blocks behind our Volvo’s rear tire.

“We didn’t even plan this,” Jessica said, amused. “We got up, left without looking at the ferry schedule, and boarded.”

I could tell she was happy about our good fortune. Then I remembered wanting something warm to drink for the ride over, but kept driving. I didn’t get off the freeway for a warm drink. I felt I needed to continue. Otherwise we may have been the first to board the next ferry with a 30 minute wait.

We were traveling to Port Gamble. Established by William Talbot and Andrew Pope as a company town in 1853. The location was selected as a the mill for its abundance of trees, and a bay for transporting lumber to California. This combination gave visitors scenic vistas of a wide captured ocean…

--

--

Christopher
ILLUMINATION

I am a blue-collar worker. I was born into a blue-collar family. But the poet in me views a world dreaming to be free.