Voices of the Silence

A poem on the voices within

Brad Creech
ILLUMINATION
Published in
1 min readFeb 13, 2021

--

Photo by Tom Barrett on Unsplash

The voices of the silence are the loudest
Riding on the quiet, they’re the proudest
Screaming through the stillness
Like an invisible, sudden illness
It’s the words my ears don’t hear that hit the hardest

They rise up deep from somewhere in my conscience
I close my ears; I try to be real cautious
They come up from the darkness
I have no way to fight this
They speak their words so violently, so softly

Rejection breaks me down and pulls me deeper
Depression makes me ache; he’s so familiar
Pain creates a void inside
Failure fills it with his lies
Anxiety runs loose to steal my slumber

Fear tells me that I should dread tomorrow
Then Hopelessness swoops in to add her sorrow
Miserable, these friends of mine
When I’m alone they come to life
Out of the silent spaces where they burrow

One more voice who’s there when I will listen
Come crash the walls of my silent…

--

--

Brad Creech
ILLUMINATION

Pastor - husband - father - author of The Dark Night of the Soul (https://a.co/d/am6tM6i)