Walk Back Or Be Thrown Back!

Annelise Lords
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readApr 19, 2022

--

They have something in the basement!

Image by Annelise Lords (author)

“This is what you skipped my award ceremony for?” Anna demanded.

More than thirty pairs of eyes stared at her; a beautiful pink lacy chiffon gown decorated her curvy yoga fit body.

She held the golden Globe so everyone could see it and complained, “I invited you all. I paid for tickets, and you didn’t even have the decency to tell me you can’t make it.”

“We told you months ago of our obligation and dedication to the Center,” Kayon reminded her.

“They couldn’t wait!” she fumed.

“But this is more important!” a voice at the back shouted.

“How? They are not more important than I,” she demanded.

Silence blanketed the interior of the Survival-4-All Community Center as Kayon, Christine and Denise glared at Anna, struggling to control the rage she was igniting in front of more than twenty children.

“We don’t know who you are anymore?” Christine barked. “Have you forgotten that it was in this room more than twenty years ago that you got your start?”

“I fought for what I want to get to where I am. I don’t owe anyone anything,” Anna defends.

--

--