Wannabe Politicians

The Bad Form of Saying One Thing and Doing Another

John Worthington
ILLUMINATION
Published in
7 min readMay 7, 2022

--

Illustration by BISIENKART (used with artist’s permission)

I guess I must be old fashioned. I’ve always thought it to be really bad form to say one thing and do another. But the more I listen to this new crop of wannabe politicians I have to wonder. The Vance kid from Ohio probably demonstrates the most blatant of this kind of two-faced wannabe.

Vance was staunchly anti-Trump. He made statements that were not complimentary in any way. He even went so far as to suggest that Trump was America’s Hitler⁸. That just ain’t nice. But these days he’s saying things like Trump was the best president he’s seen in his short 37 year life¹⁰. This is where I have to pause and wonder what is this kid thinking with.

Something that is true for all human beings is that once a program is written in our thinking machinery it becomes the rule of our life until we recognize it and rewrite it. My question to the Vance boy would be what was your epiphany? What did Trump do to change your mind?

I might be picking on J.D. a bit so I have to defend him a little. He ain’t alone. The wannabe speaker of the house ole Kevin what’s his name, lied and said he never done it, but then a recording of him doing it came out². As soon as that happened the Washington two-step began. But this time it sounded like an 18th century reel. Steve had to…

--

--

John Worthington
ILLUMINATION

As a published author/teacher, I draw on those experiences in my writing and use satire to introduce spiritual concepts through a contemporary political lens.