Was I In Love?

A poem about experiences

Arron Fornasetti
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Scott Broome on Unsplash

I’d ask myself from time to time
How often she wandered through my mind
Wanting to provide a place called home
With kids and a big yard for a dog to roam
Was I in love?
I wanted so much for us
In a world where bigger is better
It was the little things that mattered the most
Her raspy voice, her warming smile as she said my name
The way my heart would beat intensely whenever she walked in the room
I’d seen her many times before, yet I was awestruck as if it were the first
Was I in love?
Her heart and mind were as beautiful as she was
She knew conversations were the key to my heart
I was often misunderstood by many
Yet she knew me as well as her favorite book
We were so alike in many ways
It meant the world to experience that kind of joy
I started to see changes within myself
I became more protective
More attentive and careful
Walking on eggshells of affection
She became my motivation to do great things
To this day, I thank her for that
Was I in love?
I’d like to believe so
But nothing lasts forever
And good times go
If I were to tell her anything, I’d let her know
“Thanks for the memories, for it helped me to grow.”

--

--

Arron Fornasetti
ILLUMINATION

We as humans can learn a lot from ants. Don’t be nice, be kind.