Watch Your Words!

Do The X
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readAug 28, 2023
Photo by Glen Carrie on Unsplash

You are a good person. One day, you see someone act a bad thing that you never did before and feel better than her. You say to yourself “Ah that person, why did she do that? She should be a better person like me”.

You are a diligent student. Every single day you always study and never waste your time doing something useless. One day, you see your friend who is so lazy and just lying in his bed. You feel better than him and say to yourself “Better he studies like me, so the next test he will pass that test”.

You are a religious person. You see someone who does something wrong or something that is not allowed in your religion. You feel better than her and you say to yourself “Oh God, why does she do that? It is better for her to repent to God”.

I never felt like that actually. I feel this kind of arrogance that I am better than someone. But you know what? After a few days, I did those activities that I commented on to someone before. Yeah really, I did those things as well! Like I do the things that I hated before. I almost always feel this kind of experience. I do a good thing, comment on someone who doesn’t do the same good thing as me (even if I just say or comment it to myself), and the next day my good thing is gone and I am like that person, don’t do that good thing anymore.

I feel like God is tearing down my arrogance. God is giving me a lesson and reminding me about something. God teaches me a lesson that I should be careful of my words.

I ponder and I remember that everyone can be on top and down of this wheel of life. Maybe one day someone is in good condition so it can lead to a better act, but on the other day, he/she can experience something bad and put him/her down so it can lead to a bad act. It happens to me as well.

Maybe I made a comment to someone when I was in good condition, but I have to remember that maybe the other day, I would do the same that someone is doing now. Maybe in the future, I will feel embarrassed that in the end, I did what I have commented to others.

The lesson is that we must pay attention to what we say because we never know in the future it will affect our lives or not. In addition, hopefully, with this kind of caution, we never judge others just because they do something different with us. We have to be respectful to others based on their condition now.

Thanks for reading! And as always, SMILE because you are so much amazing! :)

--

--