Wearing What?!

MaryJo Wagner, PhD
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readJun 11, 2020

--

When My Husband Comes Home with His Boss

Woman wearing red sweatshirt
overwhelmedtoaction.com/images

How often have you heard people tell you that one of the benefits of working from home is being able to wear your pajamas? And now that even more of us are staying home because of COVID 19, who needs to “dress up.”

Life Lessons | This Happened to Me | Humor | Fashion |

So one afternoon while working at my computer on our screened-in porch, I’m wearing sneakers, jeans, a pink cotton nightgown, and a red sweat shirt shorter than the nightgown.

The cats haven’t complained yet at this outlandish outfit so what on earth could be the problem?

Oops, a truck backs up in our driveway. OMG, it’s Eric’s boss and Eric. They both exit the truck and proceed to the shed to get who knows what.

I panic. I’m anxious. Nervous they’ll spot me in this outlandish outfit. They’ll know I’ve lost it for sure.

Whew, they haven’t seen me.

I dash into the house to exchange the pink nightgown and red sweat shirt for a proper navy blue t-shirt and blue-and-green plaid flannel shirt.

On returning to the porch in more fashionable attire, I see the truck, with both men in it, driving out onto the road to return to their job.

--

--

MaryJo Wagner, PhD
ILLUMINATION

Non-fiction writing coach loves reading, writing, the Colorado mountains, J. S. Bach and Willa Cather. Get “9 Tips for Readable Writing” at maryjo@mjwagner.com