Welcome rain

Especially after so long

Margie Hord de Mendez
ILLUMINATION

--

Rain, for many of us, is not our favorite thing. “It’s a beautiful day!” usually means it’s sunny and clear. Rain dampens the spirit, they say. We want to stay inside and vegetate. Umbrellas, coats, wet feet, puddles, cars splashing pedestrians… ugh! Driving is a pain: misted-over windshields, visibility low, roads barely passable, and traffic down to a crawl. If you’ve just washed your car, news of expected precipitation leads to groans.

But today, it’s good. The weather’s a perfect excuse not to go jogging. I’m alone after weeks full of family. I don’t have to go anywhere, which is new for me. No access to a car at the moment, but that’s cool. Time to snuggle into my cave for a while. For the time being, it doesn’t matter that I’m still in pajamas. Then I just joined a 30-day writing challenge to churn out 500 words a day, which gives me some incentive. The patter of rain and the ticking of the cuckoo clock are the only sounds to interrupt me. Rain can be peaceful.

Photo by Marek Piwnicki on Unsplash

Rain also brings relief and life. Here the dry spell has been weeks or months long. The nearby hills are dry and brown. The recent drought and forest fires in California made for tragic news…

--

--

Margie Hord de Mendez
ILLUMINATION

Canadian-Mexican linguist and translator, Margie loves to write about cross-cultural living, faith, family, aging gracefully… and more!