Welcome to The Way Home

a Substack publication about nature, homeliness, and identity

Gaia Kriscak
ILLUMINATION
4 min readMay 7, 2024

--

Landscape: Window Overlooking the Woods, Édouard Vuillard, 1899

Hello! I’m happy you found The Way Home, a weekly blend of personal reflections, informative articles, and contemplative essays on nature, homeliness, and identity in times of climate change.

Get tips on how to know yourself better by a certified coach. Enjoy all your spaces day by day. Help the planet while you’re at it.

What You’ll Find

This is a publication that intersects nature writing, home practices, and coaching. Each post will focus on nature, home, and identity, or a blend of all three. The tone is friendly, educational, and honest.

Because of the plethora of resources out there, a section of the newsletter will be dedicated to a curated list of interesting resources, from IG pages to academic books, charities, and anything else.

Maize and Cockscombs, Artist Unknown, mid 17th century

Ways To Subscribe

$0 per month

  • monthly newsletter

$5 per month or $54 per year

  • weekly newsletter
  • monthly community meetings
  • food and film combinations weekly column (On the Side)
  • threads
  • resources
  • ability to post comments
  • a one-on-one coaching chat (for members who are also coaching clients)

$125 per year aka Founding member

  • all of the above
  • a personalized card reading with The Medicine Cards (by Jamie Sams) directly to your inbox
  • a gift box shipped to your home address
  • an update on what I was able to do thanks to your support

Choose a Subscription Plan

This is a side-project at the moment, but my aim is for it to become my main occupation as soon as possible. The more time I can dedicate to it, the more high-value content I can share with you all.

If you don’t want to commit to The Way Home, but want to support me anyway, I accept spontaneous donations through PayPal.

Support My Work Through Paypal

Farm Near Duivendrecht, Piet Mondrian, 1916

Who is Writing This?

I’m Gaia Kriscak, the creator of The Way Home. I’m a writer, certified coach, researcher, and podcaster. My aim is to help others apply the core values of urban cottagecore to their lives, through writings, podcast episodes, and coaching sessions.

picture of me holding a chicken

With an eco-centric approach, I share with others what is helping me know myself better, and enjoy my time on Earth. Join me as I help others develop their own creative and sustainable spaces, while I work on my own.

My Books

Other Projects

Future Projects

I’m currently developing an offline project, in the form of a cultural association. It will be a blend of events, artistic collaborations, workshops, and much more. This project will take place in northeastern Italy from 2025 onwards.

October Day, Jean Charles Cazin, 1890

More news will be out soon, but until then, contact me, and I’ll be happy to email you with all the details. I’m looking forward to it.

For Creators and Charities

I’m always on the lookout for meaningful resources. If you are a creator and your work matches the tone, style, and message of this publication, contact me.

A Monumental Portrait of a Monkey, the Stipple Master, c.1705–1710

A part of the subscription values will go to the Sharpham Trust. I’m always happy to consider different ways to help others, so if you have a charity you would like me to know about, contact me.

Young Peasant Having Her Coffee, Camille Pissarro, 1881

The Way Home is a reader-supported publication. To become part of the community, receive new posts, and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Thank you for reading this article, I hope you enjoyed it, and I hope it made you go “Hah, that’s interesting!” or something of the sort.

If you are drawn towards themes of homeliness, identity, and sustainability in times of climate change, consider joining my newsletter. I hope to see you there.

image from canva

--

--

Gaia Kriscak
ILLUMINATION

Editor of The Way Home, looking for new writers! I share free nature writing resources here: https://gaiathewayhome.substack.com/ https://linktr.ee/GaiaKriscak