We’re Human First

Different is Beautiful

Lilit A. Sargsyan
ILLUMINATION
2 min readJan 17, 2022

--

Photo Credit: Lilit Sargsyan

I love to soar above the trees.
Well, I prefer the deepest seas.
I spend my nights walking the streets.
I sleep at night, tangled in sheets.
You are so very different from me,
How can we live and in peace be?

We dream that love may wash over us,
We dream respect may be the norm,
We dream to thrive, give, and discuss,
We dream to be us, and not conform.

Open your eyes, lest my heart burst;
We want the same,
We’re human first!

I love to dance, and sing, and play,
I love to be with others all day.
Well, I prefer my solitude,
I can’t stand noise or multitude.
Friendship, alas, is not our fate,
Our differences are far too great.

We dream our children may roam the streets,
We dream that they safely come home,
We dream they follow where their heart leads,
We dream they know the sky’s their dome.

Don’t let your mind by fear be cursed;
We want the same,
We’re human first!

I hail from West, you’ve come from East,
You pray to many, I pray to one.
You look so different, strange is your feast.
Yet for us both breaks new each dawn.
I’m pale as snow, you’re dark as night,
Yet in our difference lies our true might.

We dream in life to be fulfilled,
We dream our hearts may sing in peace,
We dream our true selves are revealed,
We dream our dreams will never cease.

We’re not that different, let love be nursed;
We want the same,
We’re human first!

--

--

Lilit A. Sargsyan
ILLUMINATION

An intensivist trying to find moments of peace in nature. On twitter @lilitdoc